Cookie requests

When I asked Miss Julie if there was anything I could bring to the markets for the weekend, she only had one request…
Cookies!!


I found this recipe in a kids magazine a few years ago & when I made them for Christmas they were a hit, so I thought I’d share my recipe in a photo filled post! ❀


 Find yourself some bench space (look how tiny my kitchen bench space is!!), down an espresso & grab yourself a pretty (pyrex! yay!) mixing bowl & get ready for some (not-so)serious baking!

 First item on the cards – 250grams of butter (one stick)
(now, you’re supposed to add the sugar & beat it with a mixer, but since I have limited bench space and i’m power point deprived, I do it the old fashioned way…I melt it over some hot water!)
 Next grab some fancy measuring cups…check mine out!
 Oh hey you guys! Look at me!
 nesting doll measuring cups!! 
 cuuuuteeeee ❀ ❀
 Anyway, melt yourself some butter and get to stirring that baby into a creamy texture
 Get yourself some flour & caster sugar handy (& take photos of their pretty tins!)
 then add 3/4 cup of caster sugar
 and beat till your arm begins to hurt (or maybe a little bit more…my arm started hurting straight away…!)
 Next up is 2 teaspoons of Vanilla Extract!
 mix mix mix!
 Then your egg separating skills need to kick into gear…
 Tada! Now take your egg yolk & add it to the mix
 Then for the flour!
 Attempt to scoop said flour without covering yourself and the floor
 Add 2 1/4 cups & beat until a dough forms (&/or mixing becomes impossible!)
 If the dough is sticky, whack it in the fridge for 10 minutes to firm up a bit..
 Grab some baking paper and a rolling pin…
 (or if your local store is sold out…your hand…)
 …and flatten! πŸ™‚
 make sure the dough is nice and thin (recipe calls for 4mm in thickness)
 get a cookie cutter of your preferred shape
 and stamp away
and there you have it! 
The yummiest sugar cookies you ever did taste!
I press smarties all over them to decorate, & then pop them into the oven for 8-10minutes (or until golden…whichever comes first!) or you could just dust lightly with icing sugar (when asking Miss Julie is the cookies would be ok without smarties I received a “no comment” message back…so off to buy smarties I go!)

What’s your favourite cookies recipe??
I’m in love with peanut butter – anyone have any good peanut butter and/or chocolate recipes??
xxx
16 thoughts on “Cookie requests

  1. those are the sickest measuring cups EVER. I'm a bit awed.I don't have a recipe on hand, but you should try an Andes chocolate cookie. frosted with Andes or with an Andes in the middle. mmmm.

  2. Teddi, they melt in your mouth!! So so good, but so so bad as once you start you just can't stop eating them! ;)Holly – tell me more about Andes chocolate cookies?? I've never heard of them, but anything cookie-like, I like! πŸ˜‰ x

  3. Holly – I don't think so..? I haven't heard of them before – but i'll check out the USA food store and see! heheoh Jules! I love it when your teeth sing…faaalalalalalalaa x

  4. OMG I love everything about this post – the measuring cups, your cute canisters, that gorgeous mixing bowl, the red polka dot apron! And the cookies looked so good… so sad I couldn't eat one on the weekend : (

  5. Shannon – So great to meet you on the weekend! But so sad you couldn't have a cookie…lucky there were smarties there to save the day! πŸ™‚ xJenny – got the measuring cups from my work! I'll email you a link! Happy baking xLaura – hahaha love it xHolly – omg!! They sound incredible!! I need to get that recipe off you! x

Leave a Reply

