Gastown, Food & Jimi

The Gastown Steam Clock is one of my fondest childhood memories (although for some reason I had convinced myself it was in Toronto…?), so when we came across it while walking through Gastown (you think I would have twigged…?!) I was a tad excited!
vancouver
We have over half an hour of footage in & around this clock from a family holiday back in 1992, where my dad was waiting to film the steam…but start filming just after 11:45am…so we have 15minutes of a shaking video pointed at a clock with my mother not too impressed in the background! πŸ˜‰
vancouver
Oh! And I finally managed to get a full length photo of myself for an outfit post…though all you can really see is my vintage coat I scored off etsy, my Sorel boots that I have lived in since we arrived, skinny black jeans from Sportsgirl, a white Roxy beanie & a cream scarf from David Jones.
(I was wearing 3 tops underneath – 2 of which were thermals, & a pair of tights underneath my jeans! Gotta keep those layers going!)
vancouver
see – so excited!

vancouver
Gastown was so beautiful! There was so much new business amongst the old heritage buildings – new cafes, boutiques & incredible office spaces
vancouver
vancouver
It had such an old world feel to it
vancouver
Not to mention some of the best coffees I’ve had on the trip to date! (Thank you Around the World! You’re amazing!)
vancouver
vancouver
And right next door we found Meat & Bread – a sandwich bar that made the tastiest toasted sandwiches ever!
vancouver
vancouver
I had a triple cheese melt, but the Mister’s Lamb special won hands down!

We wandered around China Town for a while before stumbling across the Jimi Hendrix Shrine!
vancouver
vancouver
Such an incredible find and so unexpected! It wasn’t listed in any of the guides we’d read!

It’s our last night in Vancouver, as tomorrow we’re jumping on the Amtrak & heading to Seattle! 
See you in the USA
x
Leave a Reply

