beautiful books

Books & writing have been the two constants in my life. 
My childhood collection of Enid Blyton’s, along with a near complete set of Trixie Beldon, Nancy Drew & Hardy Boys novels have been sitting in storage at my Dad’s place (Thanks Dad!) for the past 10 years. Unfortunately they’ll have to stay put until we have a place with enough storage space…or a room I can convert into my very own library! ❀ (…one day…)
In the past few months I’ve had quite a few beautiful books come into my life – many have been gifts from Mike, who I must say, has perfect book taste πŸ˜‰ & a few are right at the top of my must-have-now list.

Domino – The Book of Decorating was a present from Mike when he came back from his last trip to the USA. We absolutely loved Domino magazine & were devastated when it ceased a few years back. Although it was ridiculously overpriced here in Australia (as most overseas magazines are!), we loved every issue we got our little paws on, so having a book-of-domino (so to speak) makes us very happy πŸ™‚

My Heart Wanders by Pia Jane Bijkerk was a birthday gift from Mike ❀
The title had already won me over, & I do love Pia’s blog, so I had to add this book to my collection. It’s such a lovely, honest read & the photographs are mesmerising!

Yet another of Mike’s amazing book gifts was this little baby…!!!

Ahhhh!!! Pretty sure I squealed in his ear when he handed this to me ❀
I’ve had this on my want list for a while but didn’t want to bug him with my requests (as I was already making him go to MAC to get my makeup… & a health food store in Canada for my vitamins! haha), but he clearly read my mind & bought it for me anyway (along with makeup and vitamins! YAY!)
I’ve been flicking through it every night & I am in love! 
The Flower Workshop chapter makes me extremely giddy, especially considering my flower arranging skills are bordering on woeful! I guess this means that I have more of an excuse to buy myself flowers, right? I mean, a girl needs to practice! πŸ˜€

Minxy Vintage by Kelly Doust is at the TOP of my current need list!!
The first thing I noticed about this book was the floral cover, followed by the word vintage… Then when I saw Kelly’s name on the cover I knew this book would be just what I want (need? Yes…let’s say need!)
I purchased her book The Crafty Minx after a girlfriend told me I needed it (who was I to argue), but I didn’t need any help knowing that a book involving vintage clothing & crafting needs to be mine. I’ve just ordered a copy & I can’ wait to get it in the mail ❀

Hilariously enough, I haven’t watched ONE episode of Mad Men yet?!! How is this possible? Well, I knew that I would fall in love with Mad Men…which would lead to an obscene amount of sitting in front of the tv devouring every.single.episode!!
I have looked up pictures of the outfits though! Ohhh, the clothes!! 
Never fear – this book has (also) just been ordered, & I have Mad Men sitting and waiting for me in my Netflix queue ❀

What are the beautiful books in your life at the moment?
Please share – I’m on a bit of a book buying frenzy at the moment, so I’ll share some more next week πŸ˜‰
xxx

Leave a Reply

